Interview with Andrew Vogt

(c) 2016 http://tinyurl.com/hmnj3tz
(c) 2016 http://tinyurl.com/hmnj3tz

Andrew Vogt is a full-time graphic design student at San Jose State University and I got a quick chance to interview him at a coffee shop in downtown.

How did you get started in photography?

About two years ago when I bought my first DSLR camera, I thought it would be a nice distraction from the daily grind but it quickly became my entire life.

Where do you find inspiration?I find a lot of my inspiration from photojournalism, movies and theater performance. Viewing photo journalistics images help me understand what true raw emotion really is and watching movies and stage performances helps me observe people who know how to professionally how to mimic that. The combination of these

I find a lot of my inspiration from photojournalism, movies and theater performance. Viewing photo journalistics images help me understand what true raw emotion really is and watching movies and stage performances helps me observe people who know how to professionally how to mimic that. The combination of these helps have a better sense of emotion and how to inject it into a photo.

What is the most difficult challenge facing new photographers in today photography industry?

Finding clients. I’ve met many incredible photographers who have amazing artistic minds and very creative work, but unfortunately they do not know how to properly market themselves and as a result their work is never shown to the right people and they do not survive the transition to become professional.

What photographic goals are in your future?

My biggest goal are to publish my portraits series into a book, sell fine art prints, and earn my commercial and editorial photography certification. I plan to transfer to a four-year university in San Francisco and earn B.A. in Photography so I can teach in the future. Another goal of mine is to master studio lighting and gain more experience with commercial photography.

