How To Make a Time-lapse Sequence

I can not specifically remember when I got into Timelapse photography. Maybe around the time when I was in middle school watching the discovery channel natures documentaries in the living room with my father. I remember I was really fascinated to watch a storm pass a large geographical region within a matter of seconds or a plant grow and bloom in a few a frames. I always wondered on what were the technicality of shooting time lapses and it was not until two years ago that I spent the whole summer trying different methods to replicate the cinematic time-lapses I grew up watching. After a year of trial and error, I figured out a decent method to do so.

But before you go out and shoot your time-lapse, you must sure you camera has an intervalometer in its software, if not then you can simply download the firmware here but it is only for canon cameras. Anyways here is a list of how to do so:

  • Determine your subject matter.
    • The slower the objects move the longer intervals between each frame.
  •  Place your camera on the tripod and lock down the legs.
  • Set your camera to a narrow aperture for maximum depth of field.
    • For my lens (50mm 1.8g) sweet spot for time-lapses is around f/9 but anything around should be sufficient.
  • Shoot in manual mode!
    • Different frame exposures cause the video flicker.
  • Calculate the time.
    • (Desire duration in second) x (frames per second for playback) = Amount of frames per playback
    • A 30-second sequence that plays back 30 frames per second would require 900 frames (30 x 30 = 900)

Now to compile the frames to a video. Open Premiere, go to file> Import> Select all your images> turn on, Image sequence> Open. Premiere will stack each frame and convert the file into a video. Once you dragged the file onto the track, make sure that the FPS is set a 30 since there are 900 frames, and then click, File> Export> Media>  Choose whatever format you want> Export.